Ready for summer challenge-week 2 update

I feel like I did great on week 2 of the Ready for Summer Challenge. Especially Mon-Wed. :)

1. My longest run this week was 6.5 miles!!!!!!!!!!!!! Woohoo! And I hadn’t even planned to run that far, but just felt like I could keep running. :) My time was 1:21:43.

2. I did GREAT with 2 fruits each day. *patting myself on the back* I still need to plan better for the veggies, but I did ok with them throughout the week. I didn’t reach my goal of 2 per day but I did eat: broccoli, green beans, carrots, spinach leaves, cucumbers, squash, grilled eggplant at a Mediterranean rest.

3. I am slowly getting to my goal of 125. The last time I weighed (Saturday) I was at 132 which is down from 133.4 last week. If that is different tomorrow morning I will update this post. :)

4. GET READY for this one. You know how I said I eventually want to get into a size 6? I know that not ALL pants/jeans/capris are sized the same so I am sure that I can still wear some size 10, BUT…..the size 8 jeans of my daughters are a little too loose. :) :) :) AND-I went to Cato’s to try on a size 6. They fit, but I thought ummm..why not just try on a size 4 while I’m here? I FIT INTO THE 4!!!!! Now remember-I do know that I won’t be able to fit into all size 4 pants!!! But I fit into these!! So yes, I bought them!!!

New exercise-Interval training. HIIT to be exact which stands for High Intensity Interval Training. And because it was soooooooo high intensity-I only did it 1 time! :) But I do want to continue to do this 2-3 times a week because I felt the burn!!!! It was supposed to be a 15 minute workout where I would sprint for 8 seconds then jog for 12 seconds-repeating for 15 minutes. 8 seconds is a loooong time! Just ask me or any bullrider! :) I can definitely see where this type of workout will burn fat!!

Here are my goals for this week:

Stay sane. :) My daughter’s senior prom is Friday!!!! Our state testing is this week at school! I have a conference that I have to go to Friday night (probably around 2 am AFTER the prom) and Saturday. I have a “Save Our Schools” Rally at 2pm on Saturday. My daughter’s 18th b’day is this weekend. So I might make a mini-goal of getting through the week WITHOUT taking some anxiety medicine. :) Oh, and I forgot-I haven’t done our taxes yet!!! AND my part-time job stuff is due by Friday and I am NOT finished! :)

OK-where was I? My goals for this week:

1. Run 5 times this week with 1 run being 6 miles

2. Get some protein and healthy eating into my days-I want to start eating some oatmeal and fish. Not together. :) Try the 2 veggies per day.

3. Do at least 2 HIIT workouts

4. 50 crunches per day with some jumping jacks and squats-I want to tone up

Good luck to everyone else on the challenge!!! What’s a new goal that you have set for yourself?

24 Responses

  1. Wow! You have a lot of stuff coming up with your daughter’s prom etc. Good luck getting through that.
    What an amazing feeling it must be to fit into size 4’s! :) Well done!
    Keep up the amazing work! Good luck with week 3 :)

  2. I always say a 6 mile run is a 10k. Sounds so much more lol!

    Sounds like a pretty good week to me, great targets for this week. I hate HIIT training so you are brave!

  3. Wow…6.5 miles at once…Wonderful !!! Congratulations on meeting that goal so quickly. You are doing fantastic in your progression…just remember to listen carefully to the signals your body is sending out and don’t do too much, too quickly. It is so invigorating when we reach these milestones, that we sometimes “overstep our bounds” in our enthusiasm.

    Great job !

    • Thanks everyone! Michael-I COMPLETELY understand what you mean about not doing too much! I probably won’t attempt that long of a run again until next weekend. :)

  4. You are doing great. Keep up the good work as we start week 3. :)

  5. Congrats on the long run and the shrinking pants size! What great motivation to stay on track even with the hectic week coming up.

    I just keep hearing Summer Challenge members posting about HIIT, and I’m thinking I should give that another shot. I recently bought The Firm (workout series) DVD set of HIIT workouts. They’re short, but intense – esp during those high energy bursts. I like them, but after trying them all out, I was thinking I preferred my longer, steadier cardio workouts, and thought I could expect better results from them than I could possibly get in a 20 min HIIT workout. Now I’m re-thinking that. I’m going to give those Firm HIIT DVD’s another shot.

    Have a great week 3!!

    • Thanks, Jennifer! I think I might try the HIIT for about 3 or so weeks and track my weight loss/inches to see if it really does all that it is hyped to do! :)

  6. Wohoo! 6 miles, excellent! I’m going to try out HIIT this week :)

  7. holy moly!! 6.5 miles, wow girl you are a rock star!!!! ahhh 125, I wish :) that was my original goal when I started blogging, but I am comfortable where I am (size 4-6)
    My daughters prom was such a memory, hair, make (at 2 salons!!!) nails, dress shopping, shoe shopping, they chartered a bus!!! about 30 kids went together, she had soooo much fun :)
    I am not a big fish eater… humm …thats a food I know I should, but I just don’t!!! LOL

    • Karla,

      So how tall are you to be in size 4-6? I’m only 5’1! :) I hope my baby has a wonderful prom experience! But I really can’t wait until this senior year is O.V.E.R. :)

  8. WooHoo — 6.5 miles is a great run! You’re doing great — that’s a lot of stuff going on to try to fit a healthy lifestyle around, but making the commitment is half the battle. Way to go!

    • Thanks, Joy! I’ve had an additional personal issue to come up this week to deal with and hope that running will ease my pain along with my child’s! :)

  9. 6.5 miles??? you are my hero

    • Thanks, El! :) I can’t wait to see if I can run that far again this weekend! :) It might have just been a fluke!

  10. Yeah for fitting into smaller sizes.

  11. Good job! What a run!!

  12. Stressed doesn’t have to equal dessert:-). That’s what I keep saying since I’m having trouble saying no to treats:-). You are doing great keep at it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

