My 2nd 5k race!!By the w

Oh yeah! I ran my 2nd 5k race yesterday afternoon. The Auburn University Pharmacy school was sponsoring it. It had some steady inclines throughout and some flat areas. The 1st incline was the worst. 🙂

My time-I think- was 34:30, but not exactly sure. My time in my 1st 5k back in February was 39:52 so I was PLEASED!!! Of course, today I ran 4 miles in 53 minutes-guess I was dragging from yesterday. 🙂

Here’s a picture of my bib.

Here is “moi” before the race:

Here is my wonderful husband who just LOVED going with me to this race! 🙂 Let me explain a little. He’s a country boy (if you can’t tell). He works 6 days a week in another state where he stays while he works. He comes home on Saturday nights and leaves at 3:30 am on Monday mornings headed back. We have 74 acres of land with cows, horses, donkeys. He also takes care of another guy’s cows on about 300 acres of land in a nearby county. Needless to say I was proud that he only made one negative comment yesterday concerning his “Sunday” that was pretty much taken up with my race. He said, ” I’m more behind this weekend than any other weekend.” That’s not too bad is it? 🙂 On a sidenote-he has interviewed with a company back home and goes for his 2nd interview this upcoming Monday (4/2/12). Please.pray. 🙂

I know he is thinking about me-NOT cows! 🙂

Here we come-of course I’m a “back of the pack” kind of gal!

 We’ve only just begun!

 Still smiling at this point!

The long stretch home!

I’m still running and almost finished!

I’m smiling again!! Because I can see the finish line!

Yes, I did it. I saw the finish line and sprinted toward it. It was either that or fall out before I got there. 🙂

January 1st was the beginning of this adventure in running and losing weight, and I’m so.glad. I.started. 🙂

By the way, one of the pharmacy students that I ran with for awhile asked me to come and speak at a meeting for their Alabama Obesity Task Force after I shared my story of 163 lbs to 136 lbs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

Thanks to my wonderful daughter for taking these great pictures!

 

14 Responses

  1. That’s awesome! You’re smiling the entire way. I love that your husband is there for moral support. Trust me..I’m married to a farmer and I know that it’s hard to get them away from their chores. I can’t wait for when I’m able to run a 5K. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Awesome! That is so great! Love that your husband came for moral support 😉 Ya, my husband would not have been too thrilled..haha. That’s awesome that they asked you to come share your story…how cool is that! Way to go!

  3. Wohoo! Great job! I love that you’re smiling the whole time too! So sweet your husband is so supportive!

  4. Congratulations on your second 5K, and on a huge PR…you really lowered your previous time considerably, and looked like you were having a blast doing it.

    Great Job !!!

  5. Amazing job Shannon!! Congrats on the PR! Those are some great action shots, especially that last one! Love the feeling of sprinting to a finish line 🙂

    And in response to your comment on my blog: my 8K was pretty terrible!! It was HOT and we were DRAGGING, but my friend and I had a lot of fun anyways. Not every race is a PR I guess! About to right a recap…

  6. That is so cool. My best time so far was 32:18 and I’m a bit slower this year because of my injury last year and I just haven’t had a lot of practice time. Working on it.
    Love that your hubby went with. Mine, well it won’t happen and now with Mike heading to college…I’m on my own and not sure how that will go but will give it a whirl.
    Take care and keep up the great work. Blessings!!

    • Oh, don’t feel bad about your husband not going-that’s probably the ONLY time my husband will ever go with me to a race! 🙂

  7. Congrats on your PR! You look so happy running! I’ve had to force my husband to watch me race. You are lucky!

    • Darlene-

      I didn’t force my husband to watch me this time, but I think it’s probably the only one he will ever go to!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

