Ready for summer challenge week 1 review

It was a good week! I ran a little over 15 miles last week. 🙂 I followed Week 3 of a 10k training program (I’m not planning on running a 10 this year, just want to be able to run 6 miles on my own). My longest run last week was 4 miles. Woohoo!! I’m well on my way to meeting this goal!

 

I’m not sure how many pounds I lost last week-I always weigh on Monday mornings so I’ll post about that tomorrow.

 

I lost 2 pounds so I am now at 133.4!! Yippee!!!!

I did “ok” on eating 2 veggies and 2 fruits each day. Actually, I did better on the fruit part. That part is easy-I just make sure I have a banana or apple with me. The veggies part is what I’m going to have to work on. I usually take a sandwich with me to work, and it’s too much of a hassle to take veggies with me. 🙂 So I guess I’ll just make it 2 veggies at suppertime! 🙂

I feel REALLY good about what I did accomplish last week. My 2nd longest run was 3.83 miles this morning. I think I could have kept going, but we had planned to work out in the yard today, so I felt obligated to end my run. 🙂

I tried a new meal today that I saw on someone’s blog (and can’t for the life of me remember which blog it was!). A turkey wrap with the following:

Whole wheat tortilla

2 slices deli style turkey

sliced cucumbers

spinach leaves

hummus

It was DELICIOUS!!! I mean-OMG! I had never had hummus before, but now I am addicted. I think I will try to get up a little earlier a few days a week and make this to take for lunch. AND it is so low calorie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Here’s a picture of the ingredients-forgot to take a picture after I made it. I guess I was just wanting to eat it too much! 🙂

YUM-YUM!

The mini-challenge for this next week is to try a new exercise. I’m going to do this in 2 different ways. I found an April challenge over at Shrinking Jeans that works your legs and rear (Goodness knows I need this!). So I will be trying burpees and wall sits which I have NEVER done before. 🙂 Also, I’m going to try and insert some HIIT training into my routine each week. This is a combination of high intensity exercise with moderate/low intensity exercise. I found this in a SELF magazine for their Drop 10 plan.

I have tried to recruit some people to run with me and have been pretty successful-There are about 4-7 people who are now training on the Couch25k program. 3 of them have injuries right now so they have had to rest and will hopefully be back soon. 🙂

Shanda ran 2 miles with me Friday after school-she only walked a few times and not for very long. I think she is on Week 7 so she should be able to run 3 miles with me before long! 🙂

Here we are after our 2 mile run Friday:

Friday night I went to a “Blackout” zumba-it was so much fun! Saturday morning I went to a regular zumba class. Then spent the rest of Saturday at the softball field watching my senior “baby” girl play. Here she is at bat.

Oh yeah, Friday we had our annual snake show at school. The seniors always get to go out and hold the BIG snake, so Taylor dressed up to go out and hold a snake. SMH. 🙂 Here she is.

She’s the one on the front row 3rd from the left with the jacket that she had to end up wearing over her “cute” dress since the sleeves didn’t quite “measure” up. Teehee. 🙂

AND last but not least, here is a picture of us goofing off last week.

OK. Goodnight. 🙂

16 Responses

  1. Awesome work this week!! Love the positive vibe from this post 🙂
    Good luck with week 2!

  2. I agree…your upbeat and positive attitude is one of the best methods of ensuring ongoing success. You are doing so well…keep up the good work !!!

  3. Burpees & wall sits are tough!!!!!!!!!!! But you will see and feel results! Congrats on your loss and success so far. You are off to a great start!

  4. Fantastic work! That wrap sounds amazing! I have to see if I can find some hummus here!!

    You are beautiful btw. 🙂

  5. Which one is the mother and which one is the daughter? 😉

    That’s so cool that you’re finding others to run with you. Nothing motivates me more than having a friend to keep me accountable. Good luck this week and congrats on the 2 lbs!

  6. A running buddy is amazing!! I was always so emabarrased about being slow, etc… and didnt want anyone with me. BUT, now, I LOVE when my friends goes with me! I push myself!!

    • Debby-

      I took my dog as my running buddy today! 🙂 I’m trying to recruit everyone and everything! 🙂

  7. MY NAME IS DEVON. I ENJOY READING YOUR BLOG ABOUT GETTING READY FOR SUMMER! I TOO AM DOING A “GET READY FOR SUMMER” CHALLENGE! I AM DOING A 90 DAY WEIGHT LOSS CHALLENGE THROUGH A COMPANY CALLED VSALUS. WATCH THE VIDEO ON MY WEBSITE AND LET ME KNOW WHAT YOU THINK.

    http://youngvilife.myvi.net

    this may be something you might might be interested in!!!

  8. Hey lady… it’s taking me all week to get through everyone’s updates from last weeks summer challenge blogs!

    I LOVE HIIT. I swear by it. It is effective. Changes bodies. Changes how hard you can push yourself. I’m a super fan. If you’re looking for ideas, try out bodyrock.tv… really they should pay me for how often I plug their web workouts. It’s great. 🙂

    • Nanette,

      I’ll definitely look into bodyrock.tv. I have GOT to get toned-seriously. 🙂

  9. wow girl!!! you had a killer week!! Awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

