Ready for summer challenge-Week 4 review

Are you ready? After all the heartache with my 18 year old daughter guess what? My brother-in-law passed away this past Wednesday. He was my husband’s oldest brother (61), and he had pancreatic cancer. He had fought this battle long and hard since last February-over a year. He was a strong man. A good man. I am thankful that I got to hold his hand the day before he passed away. David will always be in my heart.

 So I come to you, not with a heavy heart, but with peace that I have found through the Almighty. Yes, God. He really knows me now. We have had a personal relationship these past 2 weeks. One that I hope to continue.

I am moving forward. 🙂

I lost 6 pounds week before last only to gain about 4 of those back with all the good food that I have been eating this week. Our communities really came together to help our family during this time. I’m talking some GOOD FOOD!!! AND-the doughnuts came in. A Krispy Kreme Fundraiser for softball. I only ate 3 of them. At one time. 🙂 I now weigh in at 129. I think. 🙂

So my calculations are-past 2 weeks I lost 2 pounds. 🙂 I only ran 4 times in 14 days. OMG! Yesterday I ran a 5k race with my PR of 33 minutes. Yes, that is probably S.   L.   O.   W.   to all of ya’ll, but I am getting faster. 🙂Here I am after the race with my nice “hairdo”!! About to eat at Panera Bread in Auburn. I came in 25th out of 56 in my age group(40-49)-I’m 41. I normally have a pretty smile (I think), but not when I’m squinting at the sun and after running 3 miles! 🙂

My review for this past week is YUCK! Didn’t stick to anything really because of life.

But I am gearing up for this next week and hope to ONLY have a positive post for you next weekend!!

Here are my goals for week 5:

1. Eat 2 fruits/veggies each day. This might be a little hard for me since I will be on vacation. Not the fruit part-the veggie part. But I will try!

2. I am going to try and run 6 or more mile 3 times this week. I have only done that once so far and since that is my overall goal for this challenge, I know I need to step it up and make up for these last 2 weeks.

3. On my short runs this week-3 miles or less-I will try to run some little speed intervals. I never did follow through with the HIIT training and REALLY want to, so I am planning on incorporating it into my regular runs instead of thinking I can do it after I kill myself put forth my best effort with my regular running. 🙂

4. I am going to try and log over 20 miles of running this week.

I am READY! I am on spring break this week and heading to the beach tomorrow with my mom and my daughter. I can’t wait!!! 3 days of relaxing, reading, running, eating, and GOOD COMPANY!!! 🙂

 

 

 

18 Responses

  1. I am sorry to hear about your loss. It is so hard to lose a loved one, but sounds like you and God have a good relationship and that will certainly help. He can heal all wounds.

    Congrats on the race. Coming in 25th is fantastic. I’d have been last.

    Good luck this week. You are in my thoughts!

  2. So sorry for the loss of your brother in law. Your smile looks fine even after running a race. Good for you on the exercise. Hope you meet your goals for week five. 🙂

  3. Nice job on the 5K race! 33 minutes is not bad at all – be proud!

    Sorry to hear life has thrown you some curveballs, but it sure sounds like your faith will help you through. Hope next week is better for you.

  4. Sorry to hear about your loss. Your BIL sounds likes a great guy. Have fun on your vacation!

  5. Sorry you had another rough week, but you are due for some good ones now I’m sure. Be sure you don’t increase your weekly mileage by more than 10-15% of the prior week (or average of the past couple of weeks) so you don’t overdo. Better to keep progressing slowly than to sideline yourself.

    Have a wonderful time at the beach !

    • Thanks, Michael! My 1st run of the week while on vacation-2.1 miles! 23 minutes. Felt sooooo good! 🙂

  6. 33 is incredible to me, anything but slow!
    You look absolutely beautiful.

    Sorry about your loss. Hugs!

  7. WOW! I am so sorry and I feel really bad for not having found you blog even though you have commented on mine before. Every time I tried I ended up not on this blog. So sorry. Glad I have got the right blog now.
    And yes, you’re right, running make everything else so much easier. My stamina and endurance are 1000x better than ever before!

  8. Sorry to hear about your loss – death is so difficult to deal with.
    Awesome work on the 5 K! 33 min is great 🙂

  9. You are doing great on the weight loss. Staying on track during vacation is hard, but you can do it.

Leave a Reply

